# **President's Cup Regatta:**

# Sunday 8th October 2023 - 1pm

The President's Cup Regatta will be sailed on 8th October 2023, with a lay day in case of cancellation or abandonment on 15 October.

Registration starts at 1pm, racing will begin as soon after 1:30pm as possible. The racing may continue later than 4pm.

## **Trophies:**

The President's Cup will be presented to the winner of the Regatta to be held for one year plus a miniature to be kept. 2nd and 3rd place will receive a back-stand trophy.

If the winner is not a current member then the President's Cup will be held by the NZRYS on the winner's behalf.

### **Entries:**

All current NZRYS members are welcome. Past members and non-members can apply for entry to the race organizer.

Entries will be accepted on the day at 1pm. Late entries can be accepted up to the start of the 2nd race of an available group.

A donation/ entry fee of \$1 for members, \$5 for non-members will be requested.

## Frequencies and Sail Numbers.

NZRYS members will use their registered frequency and sail numbers. Non-members will have to arrange frequencies that do not clash with other entrants. Additional identification letters will be issued by the club if required.

#### **Eligible Boats:**

Boats should be standard or CarbonFibre Edition (CFE) Seawinds and should be compliant with the NZRYS rules (available on the web site) or have a waiver from the NZRYS race committee in the case of any item of non-compliance.

Other unmodified one design kitset boats that have been accepted by the club, such as Yamaha, Whitbread 60, CR-914 or Fairwinds may apply for entry. It will be necessary to demonstrate that they are substantially unmodified and fit within the guidelines of 1 metre length.

In the case of a technical failure during the event the competitor can request from the organizer that a substitute boat be allowed, such as the Club Boat or the member's own spare boat.

## **Race Organization:**

Entries will be put into one of four (or five) groups to be named by a colour. This will be done using a lottery draw of coloured disks or ribbons from a bag. Boats will wear a ribbon of the appropriate group colour on their backstay. Ideally each group should have three or four boats.

Each group will race against every other group. Each pairing of groups will sail two races consecutively. If there are 4 groups then there will be a total of 12 races, each boat being in 6 races. All races are scratch races with no handicaps.

Scoring will be done as per normal club racing with 1 point for a win, 2 for 2nd place etc. DNS and DSQ will score 10, DNF will score 8 (the maximum number of boats in a race).

Each competitor can drop their worst score, 5 races must be counted.

The winner of the Regatta will the the competitor with the lowest score. 2nd and 3rd will be the next highest scores.

In the case of competitors with equal scores for 1st, 2nd or 3rd places these boats will sail a single race to resolve the equal scores.

While two groups are sailing in races the organizer will assign umpires and other officers from the non-racing groups.

#### **Race Course:**

The organizer will set a course that is appropriate to the conditions and to the need to sailing 12 or more races in the time allocated.

If conditions change, the course may be reset by the organizer to a new direction, or to shorten or lengthen the course.

### **Sailing Rules:**

Racing will be done using the standard sailing rules including the Radio Yacht appendix.

#### **Protests:**

In the case of protests the organizer will assign a protest committee to hear the protest at the earliest opportunity, preferably immediately after the race.

### **Resolution of Disputes:**

Decisions of the race organizer will be final.

New Zealand Radio Yacht Squadron Web site: http://Azonic.co.nz/NZRYS/

**Secretary**: Mike@merel.co.nz